Writing for Reals

Tonight I did the first extemporaneous fiction writing I’ve done in months. It came out of a chance phrase from a friend during dinner (thanks, T!), and has grown to about 700 words in about 20 minutes. 🙂 I am very happy with this turn of events!

My goals for this, the second round of A Round of Words in 80 Days for 2012, are as follows:

1. Continue with my 5 minutes of writing every day, but bump up to 10 minutes a day. This will most likely happen first thing in the morning, while my schedule remains what it is. It mostly turns into journaling, but that’s completely okay with me.

2. Walk Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, with yoga on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

I know the second isn’t a writing goal, but it IS a healthy life goal. Since part of my life realizations in the past couple of weeks have including making time for myself, and not giving myelf to everyone else, I believe this will allow me to start balancing things in a healthy way, beginning with treating my body in a good way.

I also think it’s likely there will be more writing on Tuesdays and Thursdays after the yoga sessions. Yoga clear my mind so very well, and allows me to focus on my body and my breathing in a way I don’t do at any other time.

In the meantime, this weekend is Emerald City Comic Con in Seattle. I’m going to be there all day, every day. There are even a couple of very interesting panels that I want to sit in on…as well as Saturday night’s speed dating session. I’ll have to post here with how that goes… 🙂

gp

One response to “Writing for Reals

Leave a Reply

