laid off, and yes, i’m happy about it!

Tuesday morning, I had a planned phone call with my supervisor. I thought she was going to be chatting with me about my schedule, or the fact that I have a doula client due any minute now and we’re short-staffed, or something to that effect. As it turned out, when I answered my phone, it was my supervisor and our director calling to tell me my position has been eliminated.

The company got bought out at the beginning of the year, which was a little bit surreal, because not much changed from my point of view. I went to work, did my work, and went home, same as always. There was new stuff coming down the pipe in terms of our processing line, but I hadn’t been included in any of the new project teams–nothing too surprising, and certainly not upsetting. I’m the kind of employee who doesn’t effect changes within the company, but I’m the total cheerleader for changes and learning new stuff when I’m told to. I figured as a low-to-mid-level peon who showed up and did work and cheerlead for changes, my job was safe. Turns out, not so much.

I wasn’t the only person laid off; there were 22 others sacked as well. Talk about a reorganization!

At first I was stunned; then once I got off the second phone call–this one with HR–and immediately started telling people my GOOD NEWS. This company knows how to lay people off well. And no, I won’t say which one. I don’t think they’re hiring right now. 😉

So yes, I’m thrilled I got laid off. It was far from a dream job of mine, and with the severance and such, it gives me some time to put my doula business together and figure out how to do it well–and then DO IT. It also gives me time to sort some things out for myself, both personally and literally; I’m spending time going through all those boxes of things I wanted to sort before I moved in August that I didn’t have time to sort. It’s taking a while, but it’s worth it.

The next several months will undoubtedly be fraught with moments and days of terror and worry about the next phase of my life, but for the moment, I’m good. 🙂

gp

Leave a Reply

