ROW80 check-in for 10/16…on 10/17

So my friend B is getting closer and closer to re-opening her coffee house, and I’m helping her as much as I can. I’m doing a lot of grunt work, getting dusty and dirty and spending a lot of time away from home and my kitties. On the one hand, it makes me feel really good that I’m doing this for her–and that’s not gonna go away. I will always feel good about this. She needs help, and I can help, even if it’s mainly painting, vacuuming, lifting, and various other minion-type things which need to be done.

On the other hand, right this moment, I wouldn’t mind being home, showered and fed, curled up with my cats, watching another episode of “Torchwood: Miracle Day” (which is out on Netflix streaming), and anticipating falling asleep very soon. Instead, I’m sitting on my ass on a cold, dirty concrete floor, waiting for the carpenter to finish fixing the front door. I’m not technically complaining about this; I’m very glad I can do this for my friend, who went home about an hour ago because she felt yucky and has had a pretty icky day.

I am, however, totally using this update as my 5 minutes of writing today. I believe I did 5 minutes at least twice since Wednesday, possibly 3 times. This is up from no writing at all for weeks ms weeks, so I call this last update period a win. šŸ™‚

Even if my ass is so cold I’m not sure if it’s still attached. šŸ˜‰

gp

5 responses to “ROW80 check-in for 10/16…on 10/17

  • Ryan King

    Excellent. See, I knew you could do 5 minutes. šŸ˜‰

  • Ryan King

    So.. where’s the next ROW80 check-in? hehe..

    • geekpyxie

      Yeah…I don’t have anything to report, and no time to report that I have nothing to report. Waiting for my friend to move her car, and the city inspector to show up and *fingers crossed* give us our occupancy permit. Plus, my carpal tunnel-ridden hands have decided to spend a bunch of time boy really being useful AT ALL…so…that’s the sitch. Thanks for checking up on me, though; gives me a warm fuzzy. šŸ™‚

  • Ryan King

    Alrighty.. it’s been almost a month.. what’s that geekpyxie up to? šŸ˜‰

  • geekpyxie

    Geekpyxie is up to (in no particular order):
    1. working a job she hates 40 hours a week swing shift, but can’t leave because the money pays things like rent
    2. helping friend get coffeehouse running well now that it’s open
    3. being a doula to said coffeehouse friend, plus another client due in December
    4. doing church stuff with church friends and mom on Sundays. Thankfully, we’re Unitarian Universalists, so tolerance and forgiveness is kind of a given as long as I don’t spill paint on anyone’s quilting fabric stash.
    5. studying for said doula gigs, as I don’t know enough yet
    6. letting my wrists and hands heal from the worst carpal tunnel flare I’ve ever had from construction and opening the coffeehouse
    6. attempting to sleep now and then

    So yes, I’m a little bit busy right now. I’m not writing, except for a couple of hundred words here and there until my hands give up for the day, around needing to use them for work and learning to make espresso drinks.

    Are all of these things excuses? Yes. Can I be writing five minutes a day? Yes. Did I kind of forget about it? Yes, yes I did.

    Thank you for the very gentle reminder. šŸ™‚

    gp

Leave a Reply

