five minutes – in bed

I cracked open the fortune cookie that had come with my check. It read, “You are needed in this world; open your heart and let people in.”

“…in bed,” I thought to myself, adding the ending phrase. “Though technically it would be more grammatically correct to say ‘into bed’.”

I shook my head, popping half of the faintly orange-flavored cookie into my mouth. Only I would start correcting fortune cookie grammar around me letting people into bed. Not only was the cookie a bit ridiculous, but I was quickly approaching more than a bit ridiculous myself.

I paid the check on my way out of the restaurant and stepped out into the chilly night air. I immediately smelled the fresh clean scent that identified the Greenlake neighborhood north of Seattle, and I took a deep, slightly damp breath in.

Leave a Reply

