thinking thoughts

Chris Colfer at the Glee Premiere Party, Santa...

Image via Wikipedia

What is it about “Glee” that makes me get all pensive and angsty? Nothing about this show is realistic of high school as I remember it. I wasn’t a cheerleader or a star; I never got “slushied” (no one did that stuff at my school); I don’t remember being bullied or really anything other than ignored when I walked down the hallways; and none of my friends suffered through what these kids are suffering.

(Okay, so they’re not kids. I think the youngest actor in the show is probably at least 20 years old, right? At least when the original “Beverly Hills 90210” was airing, the youngest cast member was still an actual high school aged teenager.)

It’s possible I’m being a little over-emotional right now. I’m on vacation watching episode after episode of season 2, part 1 of “Glee”–and loving it, by the way!–and it’s THAT week of the month, and I just spent some time yesterday and today with my friend C, whose mom is actively dying of cancer. C talked to me about how she’s really doing a little bit today, and I’m VERY glad she did. I’m happy that I’ve been able to be here for her right now, and I wish I could be here longer. Remembering C talking about how she’s done being angry, done with denial, done with acceptance, and on into just being sad all the time…I’m crying for her.

And so I’m sitting here watching the Glee characters go through their lives, especially the bullying of Kurt, and it makes my heart hurt. I know there are things like this going on everywhere. People who are different get picked on for being different, bullied for having different opinions or the wrong hair, and sometimes even beaten and killed. I know that I’m lucky to have never been in these types of situations in my life–because my brother picking on me doesn’t count. But watching Kurt going through everything they’re putting him through this particular season makes me want to cry.

 Add me crying for C and her mom to wanting to cry over a fictional character…and I feel a little silly.

But I also feel like there’s something I need to do. I don’t know what I can do for C other than just being there for her to talk to if and when she needs me. Thinking about what’s actually happening in the world to kids like Kurt makes me think there IS something I can do to help them–to let them be more accepting of themselves, and to educate the people around them to realize that “different” is neither bad nor scary–and that it’s our very diversity which makes us better people. So…volunteering to help kids in Kurt’s situation. How do I do that, I wonder? Research time, perhaps?

gp

Leave a Reply

