update – update what?

Season 4 title card of Supernatural TV series.

Image via Wikipedia

Nothing to update. Nothing whatsoever.

Well, nothing writing-wise, anyway. My “easy” goal of 200 words per day has thus far eluded me entirely. No time, no energy, no…something. And yet, I have time to read, I have time to watch TV (hulu and netflix are my favorites!), and my room is still a complete mess. So I’m reading and watching TV to avoid not only cleaning my room (this has been an issue for quite some time now), but now reading and watching TV to avoid writing. And studying. And sleeping, to a certain extent.

A while back, in one of my posts, I said that I was spending too much time reading fanfiction. Well, here’s the thing: I really like fanfiction. I like reading it, and I like writing it. In fact, I signed up for a 15K fanfiction thing called “The Supernatural Big Bang”. You start with a character or characters from “Supernatural”, the TV show on the CW. Then, you pick another fandom, like “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” or “Castle” or “Doctor Who” or “Friends“–whatever you love. You take those two fandoms, mix them up, and see what shakes out–in 15K words or more. I attempted this last year, and was unsuccessful in finishing my story. I tried to cross “Supernatural” with “Fringe“, which seemed pretty logical to me. It still seems pretty logical to me. So I’m giving it another shot this time around.

As for “wasting time” writing and reading fanfic…I think that, when you’re not writing at all, writing fanfic is a good way to get the wheels greased and turning. There will (hopefully!) come a time in my life when I don’t need to write fanfic to get myself going; I’ll be writing my own material and loving it, and supporting myself with it, too! For now, I’ve got a story to write, and a couple of other pretty awesome ideas to get back into and finish up.

Not tonight, though…I’m tired, and I’m meeting a friend to walk at 6:30am. Which is in 5 hours and 56 minutes. Good night!!!

gp

2 responses to “update – update what?

  • Claire Farrell

    Last week I kept watching Medium when I could have been writing so I just cut it out (or rather down) to give me one less excuse. My entire house looks like a bomb hit it and that’s the way it’s gonna stay, I reckon. I blame Supernatural, I’m on edge waiting for the next episode. LOL. I haven’t read much fanfiction but that challenge sounds cool.

  • geekpyxie

    Oh, Supernatural can be blamed for LOTS of things. 🙂 I think they won’t mind.

Leave a Reply

