bones

Bones (TV series)

Image via Wikipedia

I am a sucker for “Bones“, which airs every Thursday night on Fox. I’m a huge sucker for a show filled with unresolved sexual tension (or UST, in the fanfiction world), and this show has it in spades!!!

Dr. Temperance Brennan, or “Bones”, is one of the foremost forensic anthropologists in the United States, if not in the world. Her partner is Special Agent Seeley Booth of the FBI. Together, they solve mysteries of why and how people died, and they most often find the person or people who committed the crimes. In between, there is witty banter, longing looks between the main characters, enough supporting cast to make the whole thing interesting, and then there’s all that UST.

[spoiler alert for seasons 5 and 6!!!!!]
In season 5, Booth confesses his love for Bones. She turns him down, and at the end of the season, they decide they need a break from each other. She heads off to Maluku for a dig, and Booth heads off to train snipers in Iraq. They come back in the beginning of season 6…and Booth has fallen in love with a sexy blonde reporter he met. Said reporter then conveniently shows up, and there go the hopes of the entire “Bones” audience that their two favorite people will ever get together.

[spoiler alert for current episodes!!!!!]
The episode aired last Thursday, “The Doctor in the Photo”, made me cry. Bones was over-identifying with a murder victim, and she realized that said victim had regrets about not opening up to people in her life–especially to one person, a man who loved her. Bones realizes that she did the same thing with Booth, and she tells him she doesn’t want to have regrets, that she doesn’t want to be like this victim. I almost fell out of my chair. Then Booth says he’s with someone, Bones cries, says she’s lost her chance…and I’m crying.

When I started writing this post, I was totally going to psychoanalyze my reaction to this. Now that I’ve written all this…I don’t want to. It’s not that it has left my head; everything I wanted to say is still buzzing around in there, but I just don’t want to talk about it anymore. Maybe in a few weeks or months I’ll come back to this post and expound upon everything I’ve [not] written here. Until then, I’m out for the night.

gp

Leave a Reply

