yoga – yahoo!

About a year and a half ago, maybe a little earlier, I started going to a yoga class at this little yoga studio near my neighborhood. This class met at *gasp* 6:15am, Tuesdays and Thursdays. They called it “Yoga Immersion”, and it was built to be accessible to people who were looking for a yoga practice that they could make fairly easy or fairly hard–depending on body type, ability, and possible healing injuries. The instructors switched every other month, and I liked different aspects of the two women who traded it back and forth between them.

I stopped going one month when I didn’t have the $90 for the class, and with money issues and then a need for some minor surgery a few months after that, I just didn’t go back. At some point, they stopped doing the Tuesday-Thursday immersion classes–probably from lack of attendance. Now instead of the 2x per week class, they have a drop-in Tuesday morning class at 6:15am for all levels. I’ve been meaning to get up and go to this for the past couple of months now, and not making it at all.

This morning, I managed to get up and go to the class! There was a slight mishap involving locking myself out of the house and my car and scaring the crap out of the roommate who lives in the basement room with the outside door access, but I got the right keys and was there just in time. I hadn’t met the instructor, but she was very nice, very supportive–especially considering she caught me doing the wrong things a couple of times.

The only drawback, of course, is the cost. It’s $15 for a drop-in, which is actually a good price. I’ve seen drop-ins more expensive than that. Then it’s $65 for a card for 5 classes, and I can’t remember how much for the card for 10 or 12 classes. They don’t take AMEX; just Visa and MC. I’m trying not to use the AMEX, so that’s actually good, but when I’m running out of money at the end of the pay period, then it’s a bit of an issue.

But the thing is…it’s what I’ve been missing in my life for a long, long time. I walked into the studio this morning and it smelled just the same, and felt the same. It was immediately and intensely comforting. The class was challenging, especially since I hadn’t done any yoga since the last time I was there, but it was definitely a good challenge, and I took it at my own pace–something that the previous immersion classes taught me was definitely okay. It was the best hour and fifteen minutes I’ve had in a long time, and I am looking forward to going to another all-levels class this Saturday morning.

My Tuesday morning routine has definitely changed for the better, as of now. Of course, the routine will NOT include, from now on, locking myself out of the house and my… Those were just a momentary aberration, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

